June 2002

Albrecht and Sack Win 2001 Max Block Award

W. Steve Albrecht and Robert J. Sack have won the 2001 Max Block Distinguished Article Award, which each year recognizes the most outstanding work published by The CPA Journal. The award-winning article, “The Perilous Future of Accounting Education,” appeared in the March 2001 issue. The award was announced on May 9 at the New York State Society of CPAs’ Annual Election Meeting and Dinner.

W. Steve Albrecht, PhD, CIA, CFE, CPA, is the Arthur Andersen LLP Alumni Professor of Accounting and associate dean of the Marriott School of Management at Brigham Young University. Robert J. Sack, CPA, is an emeritus professor of business administration at the Darden Graduate School of Business Administration, University of Virginia, and a retired partner from Touche Ross & Co. (now Deloitte & Touche).

Honorable mention in the field of taxation was awarded to “Tiptoeing Through the Nexus Minefield,” by Mark S. Klein, Timothy P. Noonan, and Andrew B. Sabol, published in January 2001. Honorable mention in the general interest category went to “In the Interest of the Investor: An Interview with Lynn Turner,” published in November 2001.

Max Block (1902–1988) was a founding partner of Anchin, Block & Anchin LLP. For more than half a century, he applied his talents to growing his firm, the NYSSCPA, and the profession. Those who knew him describe him as a visionary whose ideas have formed the basis for many of the reporting and practice management concepts used today. Block was managing editor of the NYSSCPA’s Journal (now The CPA Journal) for 15 years. Each year, the Journal recognizes his contributions and achievements by bestowing the Max Block Distinguished Article Award to the most outstanding article of the past year.

Although the judging and selection procedures have changed over the years, the criteria have remained: “An innovative and stimulating article which is of current significance and which is likely to be of lasting value.” Paul J. Wendell, CPA, who chaired the subcommittee that first established the award in 1975, recalled that the original judging body included representatives of eight NYSSCPA committees, many of which no longer exist by the same name. Looking back over more than 25 years, Wendell observed that it is difficult, even impossible, for an article to have a “lasting value” given the broad changes in the profession.

This Month | About Us | Archives | Advertise| NYSSCPA

The CPA Journal is broadly recognized as an outstanding, technical-refereed publication aimed at public practitioners, management, educators, and other accounting professionals. It is edited by CPAs for CPAs. Our goal is to provide CPAs and other accounting professionals with the information and news to enable them to be successful accountants, managers, and executives in today's practice environments.

©2002 CPA Journal. Legal Notices

Visit the new cpajournal.com.